Knitting With Chopsticks


This was something I did in the 90’s as a kid. I started knitting around the age or 6 or 7. My favourite was s small circular loom because it was easy and the results were fast. However being a kid I frequently lost my plastic knitting needles.

My alternatives (being mostly poor growing up) Chopsticks or HB pencils. But there is the ever pressent issue of the burs causing a problem. Sticky tape doesn’t work well and not all of us have some kind of varnish. My solution has always been to dip my homemade knitting needle in nail polish.

The nail polish also helps make the chopstick ends a little more slippery and it covers all loose burs that can pull on your wool. But being a chopstick you will likey end up with an odd shaped uneven work. I prefer pencils. I generally scribbly them blunt and polish them.

I would share a photo but I can only take pic’s with my phone at the moment and nowhere nice to take a snap but if I take a good pic I’ll update this post for sure.

I’ve seen a lot of suggestions but none for using nail polish. It’s simple, cheap and effective when you’re in a bind and can’t go out and buy a new set of needles. You can also colour your homemade needles anyway you like as well. I use to stipple mine. I haven’t done it in years until yesterday when I realised all my knitting needles were gone.

I dug through my drawers, grabbed a sharpener and sharpened my chopsticks. After I got them as sharp as I liked I used a nail file to sand them smooth. Then I just simply dipped them one by one in my nail polish bottle. I just use a cup to stand it upright to dry but I find blue-tac works well too.

I’ve now started a new project. It’s been semi successful. Mostly a lot of restarting. I’ve been crocheting for years on and off and more or less forgot everything about knitting except 3 ways to cast on.

Anyway I thought I’d share that little tid bit with you guys. Some of you might find it interesting.

 

