New Posts For The New Year


This year I plan to be mostly posting my sewing adventures WITH photo’s. And all of them as well. Even the things I screwed up and how and why. Might help some, maybe you’ll laugh at it but it’s all in good fun.

Basically I got my mother’s sewing machine and Overlocker. Even though she doesn’t think so I know they are both pushing 10yrs + and have almost never been used. For upsetting reasons. She held onto it with hopes of “One day when I feel better” only better never came, so it’s a very meaningful present to receive this year.

Since I received it I’ve already started practising. Most of the practise was in the form of dog clothes. Yes dog clothes. Because they were small, simple and I had a dog I could use as a model. And bless her hairy little self, she was excited to wear it. Since we got her we have had to keep her trimmed in summer and come winter time it takes a while for it to grow back, so in the short time of the early seasons of autumn and winter she wears shirts. She loves her shirts because of all the praise and attention she gets.

Anyway, long story short I plan to make clothing for me and my family when I get use to the machine and sewing again. I use to when I was younger only now I’m not so restricted in what I can make since it’s now my machine and material isn’t as expensive as it use to be.

I have been asked if I will sell any clothing I make or if I will sell my dog clothes. The short answer is no. My long answer however is that if people liked what I would make I would consider but I would only make custom fitting versions of what I design. I couldn’t simply go for the universal free size because everyone comes in all shapes and sizes. I’d rather make a perfect fit than a disappointing one but it’s a lot of work and isn’t likely that I would get to a selling point. And I am talking about bother people and dog clothes. Dog outfits take a lot more work though and I have no plans to sell them in the near future but things may change, who knows.

So those are my plans for this blog for this year. I hope to see you guys around and hear your opinions. I also think it would be a good idea since I will be able to post what I learn and hopefully having it on my blog, I might remember what not to do next time.

Happy New Year!!

