Interesting Stew: Pepper Clover Beef Stew


I have to write this here so I don’t forget what I made. Last night I really felt like stew with a particular taste. Cloves and pepper. I wanted something very clovey with a slow pepper burn and I managed to achieve it.

Ingredients:

  1. Beef stock
  2. Garlic
  3. Whole Cloves
  4. Bay leaves
  5. Mixed herbs
  6. 1 Onion
  7. 4 Carrots
  8. 1 and a half cup of celery, chopped
  9. 2 Large potatoes
  10. Mushrooms
  11. Beef or Veal
  12. Salt
  13. Pepper
  14. Gravy, Steak and Pepper gravy. Gravox

This dish you need to taste test often. Depending on how much meat and veg you have, will depend on how much stock you need. I started out with 1 liter and by the time everything was added I ended up using 3 litres of stock and got quite a few serves out of it. First I brought 1 litre of Aldi beef stock to boil then turned it down to a very light bubbling simmer. Next I diced the onion and put it in first. Then I put two small pinches of cloves in. I love cloves so if  you’re new to cloves or don’t like them only put in 4-6 whole cloves. Next I put in 6 nicely sized dried bay leaves. This really compliments the cloves and takes some of the edge away from the harshness cloves can cause.

Next I added the diced veggies, carrots, celery and potato. When the veggies were half to almost cooked I added a decent pinch of mixed herbs too add a touch of flavour. At this point I also added a pinch of salt and a pinch of pepper. I didn’t add a lot because the pepper from the meat and gravy would be added. Just before I added the meat I added a table spoon of garlic. You don’t have to use that much, only use enough to taste. Because I had 3 litres of stock the garlic was not very strongly tasted through my stew but it added to the flavour and nice flavouring to the meat.

I left it on a low simmer to slowly cook while I cut meat. I used veal chops since that’s what I had in the freezer. First cut off any and all fat. As much as you can. I used scissors since it was easier. Then dice the meat. Prepare a pan or electric fry pan and use a little bit of olive oil to grease the pan. The aim is to only seal in the meat with a little flavour. Put salt and pepper on the diced meat and lightly fry. The meat should still be pink inside and then added it to your slow cooking stew. Slow cook until done. Make sure to keep your pot lid on so you don’t loose your stew to evaporation. I checked how ready my stew was by cutting the meat to see if it was properly cooked through and how soft it was.

I have an awful oven too so I had to keep turning my stove top up and down depending on whether or not it would be simmering properly. Towards the end, add some gravy powder. You may have to bring the heat up to make it thicken properly. Add and cook in the gravy to the thickness desired. This would generally work a lot better in a proper slow cooker.

This stew is very tasty and very fully of flavour. It was a big hit in my house. Because it was slow cooked there was a lot of flavours mingling beautifully together with the spices and I was able to judge how it was going by it’s smell and taste. This isn’t the type of stew that would suit everyone though. If you’re not a fan of strong tastes then I wouldn’t recommend making this but like I said, I had to write it down for myself so I could remember how to make it again.

