Almond Milk Chai Late Recipe


Almonds

Almonds (Photo credit: Shelby PDX)

So I’ve been experimenting with almond milk. Looking for an alternative to milk and soy milk. I love soy but not so much so for coffee. Then I discovered this love blend in the kitchen. I have a bullet blender style blender but a cheaper but still good version of it with full sized milkshake cups to blend in.

Ingredients:

Almonds

Water

Manuka Honey

Cinnamon

Vanilla Extract

How To Make:

Since I have a bullet style blender I fill my milkshake cup with about a quarter of almonds. Then I place half a teaspoon of cinnamon powder not cinnamon sugar. Next I add 1 teaspoon of Manuka honey. Then I fill the rest of the cup with water and add about half a teaspoon or a quarter teaspoon depending on how much I want to taste the vanilla.

Next, I make sure the blending lid with blades is very secure before I place onto the blender and I blend until I can’t see much of the almond skin and it becomes a lovely pale browny colour. Depending on the type of blender it will take anywhere from 30seconds to 2minutes. Fairly quick though.

Next I strain it as thoroughly as possible using a fine mesh strainer. If I don’t have a nut milking bag then I might use an old clean and sterilized stocking. I tend to keep the left over almond meal to dehydrate and place in cereal. Then it’s ready to put in coffee or tea.

This mix tastes a lot like a chai tea or chai late and it’s fantastic! I like it better than most store bought chai teas now. Wonderful taste, fairly quick to make. I have noticed with other almond milk recipes that it recommends soaking over night. I tried both and got the same kind of results for my almond milk but really it’s up to you on how you make it.

Hope you like what I had to share ❤

