Feeling Under The Weather? Green Tea and Lemon Juice!


Matcha Tea or green tea powder

Matcha Tea or green tea powder (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m feeling ill this last week but one thing I like better than the old fashion hot lemon juice and honey remedy is green tea, lemon and honey and if I feel like the added taste a dash of cinnamon. I like the added health benefits of green tea and I prefer matcha green tea, the honey soothes and the acid in the lemon breaks down the phlem. I usually make myself a pot since I love hot drinks and get a rather rapid relief from this blend. I also like the effects of cinnamon when lightly added. I find a home made hot drink of lemon is much to strong for me which is why I like it blended in with green tea plus green tea along is good for a cold.

Putting the two cold fighters together along with the sooth of honey, much tastier than having nothing at all. I also think that how often I get sick and had to use cough drops, might have had a big role in my tooth decay. Plus the high sugar, it just wasn’t very good for me at all or my weight. So now if I can’t have this tea blend, sugarless cough drops. The other good thing about this blend is that it’s diabetic friendly. But in saying that you can only have a teaspoon of honey not a huge heaping. I put one teaspoon for my whole pot and my mother can help me drink it and she’s diabetic. I usually make most of my things diabetic friendly so she can have some or help me finish things off. The flavour is evenly distributed and I don’t get a sugar hit as opposed to adding a spoon of honey per cup.

In the past with getting the flu and various other viruses, I have found cough drops to make me more sick because of the sugar hit. Now that I am older I’ve been finding the old remedies to be the best but to I am glad I don’t get as sick as I use to when I was a child. Now out of curiosity, what remedies do you use when you’re sick? Home made chicken soup? Other things not mentioned? Post a comment, I’d love to hear about it. I use to get my mum to make home made veggie soup. Always made me feel better and it was the only thing I could stomach.

One thought on “Feeling Under The Weather? Green Tea and Lemon Juice!

  1. Pingback: Girls- Home made Facial Care Recipe « Draconianrain's Blog

Comments are closed.