Healthy Noodles & Homemade Bread


Soy Sauce Noodles.

Image via Wikipedia

Healthy Noodles + a ramble

How? Wholemeal plain flour and water. That’s it. Guilt free and ok for diabetics to eat. You only need a golf ball size to make two bowls of noodles.

You roll it out thinner than paper, cut it into the desired lengths, allow to dry out for an hour or until hard, then place in boiling water until it rises to the top and there you go, noodles. You can store it in the fridge for up to a week when they are dried out properly, if not they are likely to go mouldy so dry them first and make sure they are well coated in wholemeal flour.

I’ve been making these noodles all week. I cook them and rinse them in luke warm water then I make the noodle soup. Beef stock or chicken stock, veggies of my choice, cooked well or till still crunchy, put it in a bowl, put in noodles and have the best damn lunch ever! Potatoes of course are always fully cooked. It would be ideal to google why if you don’t already know why. I won’t say here just because the post would never come to an end 😉

I’m high risk for diabetes even though I am not overweight like so many believe that you have to be overweight to have diabetes, this is a myth. My mother is a diabetic so we try to cook for the one menu instead of two separate things so I eat diabetic like anyway and when I say like, I mean I don’t include all the junk food I’ve been known to have on hormonal days. Plus it seems like the more preservatives the more sick I seem to be getting eating food so for the last few months I’ve been like, well screw it, I’ll make my own things.

This week I have made barely flour. Barely is good for lowering cholesterol, I made basmanti rice flour, rice noodles, wholemeal fetuchini and a whole heap of other pasta with wholemeal. ALSO, I can tell you now, handmade wholemeal doesn’t taste like utter shit when you make it yourself! You don’t even know what wholemeal is like until you make your own bread! The store and bakery stuff, it’s nothing compared to home made with no preservatives. I’ve got nothing against preservatives, they just make me vomit or other illness symptoms. I can’t be bothered getting tested for food allergies, I know what makes me sick and I know making it myself doesn’t. I even made my own bacon and cheese bun with low fat cheese and cooking and draining the fat of the bacon before putting it in the roll. I didn’t get sick or have any repercussions.

I’ve lost weight to when I’ve made my own wholemeal stuff in the past and I don’t mean dramatic I just mean a normal healthy body type is what I got and stayed at. Lately I’ve “blossomed” so to speak but for me with the risk factor I can’t sadly allow it to go on so now I have to keep up with less junk, more wholesome healthy and exercise >_> I hate exercise lol but it’s the only sure fire way to a longer happier life.

I totally lost interest in food though for many reasons. Things weren’t tasty any more or it just made me sick and I was sick when I ate and sick when I didn’t so I couldn’t win. The headaches and migraines daily were the worse part. There was worry that I had an eating disorder which is total crap because I love food!

But now that I’ve looked into things more, more about preservatives and about grinding my own flours blah blah blah hippie talk hippie talk, I’ve been happier living a more all natural foods diet where it can be helped, home grown… if it can break through the clay lol and all that jazz. I’ve always been a fish and chicken girl but you have to have red meats for iron and many other dietary minerals and vitamins you simply can’t get. Vitamin pills make me vomit and I don’t know how vegans and veggietarians do it having iron pills and suppliments all the time and being so sick and no energy all the time and drinking energy drinks which do nothing for them or give them energy because they’re so deficient. I’ve had iron deficiency before and it is not fun! It does damage to your body to lack necessary vitamins and minerals and a lot of it is long term damage in your later years. It’s been hard finding a balance but when I do I find I have loads more energy and way less art blocks. My thinking is much clearer and my sleep is better. Everything is better, even the health of my hair and skin and eye sight. I say, not matter what the diet, if it works for you then go with it because we are all different. Not everyone that becomes a vegan or vegitarian suffers deficiency, in fact sometimes it is better for them because the way their body breaks down things they may have to much and only need it on a rare occasion. But that is only for some people. So be careful.

Always study any diet fully before you chose to follow it. Always look for the cons, not just only the positives. Always look at how a particular diet could harm your health because some can! You will always end up much better off when you chose proper moderation eating, foods that lower cholesterol such as almonds, foods with less fat, draining the fat from your meats and low GI foods and gluten free where possible. You’ll find even better luck with low carbohydrate foods and drinks since carbs convert into sugar. This is why I will never approve of those milkshake diets. There are no real minerals, vitamins or health benefits. Yes you MIGHT get skinny but at what cost? You don’t actually get improved energy at all from it either. I actually knew a number of people desperate to loose weight quickly and they put on more weight with that diet because they were so hungry. Their body was crying out for minerals and to be feed. Like a car our body needs fuel, so give it the fuel it needs. Have poridge/oatmeal instead of bacon. Oatmeal is great for lowering cholesterol and it’s good for your heart. It sticks in your stomache so you aren’t likely to be hungry again ten minutes later. It helps you have energy for longer since it’s slow burning. Little things like that. Have olive butter instead of regular butter. Olives, olive oil, olive butter all help lower cholesterol and it’s a lovely and light butter. There’s no taste difference either. Just a better health option. Personally I don’t eat butter at all. I just don’t like the taste of it much. I only have it on Vegemite toast on the rare occasions I have that and toasted fruit loaf which is once a year. Actually I have a really good heart and health because I have so little butter in my diet.

Olive oil is a lot better to use to replace any oils in your cooking. There’s no fat in olive oil. It’s also great for your skin and heart. You can use olive oil as a bath oil and it helps to repair skin damage. Great for stretch marks as well. Just a little random info for you there. Anyway back to my point since I am clearly getting off subject.

If you do choose a diet where you end up needing to take supplements instead of just eating the foods and meats and nuts necessary for your body to absorb then it would be in your best interest to research the damage you could potentially be doing to your body. Like eating disorders of anorexia and many others, ones that cause obessity and other things that can’t be helped because of genetic’s, or maybe it’s just the lifestyle, you end up missing out on so many minerals for meats, veggies and nuts and grains. It does long term damage to your liver, heart and kidneys. Not eating can contribute to diabetes to because it messes with how your body produces insulin, producing to much or to little at a time.

I know when you first have wholemeal most of us go EW YUCK WHAT IS THIS! I admit it, I hate wholemeal. But when I made it myself it tasted nothing like the store bought crap. Sorry but it’s crap, plain and simple. It’s stuffed full of preservatives and things we don’t need. Me and mum did a little test. I made her a bun, a sizable bun of my wholemeal recipe which I doctored myself. It had a table spoon of caster sugar and she must be very careful with her sugar intake, I did the same with another bun the next day with brown sugar and the next day with raw sugar. Sugar in bread is used to sweeten the dough. Anyhow, all of her blood sugar reads came back better than they have all year round. Her diet was no different. She’s a strict eater, worried for her health so she never eats white bread. She’d rather starve than risk pushing up her sugars since she knows the damage it does to your kidneys. Well we were surprised at the results. The home made bread worked and digested better than the store bought bread. With all it’s health talk and things on the label, it all started to mean nothing after that experiment. And I though Why not share the recipe on my blog?

Ingredients:

1 cup of sifted wholemeal flour, either plain or self raising. Me personally I like self raising. The buns are HUGE! Must be sifted or it comes out incredibly dry and flakey.

1 teaspoon of yeast

roughly 200 ml of warm water. For taste you can make it a mix of warm water an milk just as long as it is 200 ml

1table spoon of the sugar of your choice. I have found it doesn’t matter

1 table spoon of olive oil. The olive oil is the most important ingredient, I’ve made it with out and it came out like a brick. The olive oil makes the bread moist and fluffy with a lovely even browning coat

1 egg

Preparation:

In a lovely large steel/metal mixing bowl pour in the cup of flour, then the sugar, then add the yeast and mix through the flour. Next, make a volcano shape out of the flour by placing your fist in the center and pressing down. Crack the egg and make sure it cracks in the hole you made, next add the oil. slowly begin to mix the egg in the center creating an even dough mix and add water slowly. You don’t want it to runny or too dry. You may have to have some sifted flour ready incase you need to add more to the mix. Knead well for about 5-10minutes. Then, prepare a pot of water in a steamer pot set. This is the tricky part. Depending on your stove, get the steamer pot and place above said boiling pot of water as if you were about to steam some veggies.

Bring to an almost boil so you can see some steam. Then when you have a nice steady flow of steam going, turn either all the way to low or a bit before low. You don’t want scalding steam, but you might want to add one more pot on top. This is why the metal mixing bowl.

Place the mixing bowl atop the steamer and cover with a tea towl/dish rag. This will allow your bread to rise in a shorter time with a controlled temperature. The old fashion way was to store in a warm room for 15 minutes or until the bread dough rises, if you do it this way with gentle steam it will rise within 5-15 mintues. Now if it is too hot the dough will go stick and not rise, if it is too cool it will rise incredibly slowly. The other way to do this, is to fill your sink with warm to hot water. Like you would run a bath, place the metal bowl in the water and cover so the warm air stays inside. Do this if you have no steamer, put timer on for about 15minutes. When you check on your bread you will see it has trippled in size from a base ball almost to a basket ball. Depending on how well you kneaded it before. Take the bowl, allow to cool then knead thoroughly. Repeat the steaming step again. The dough will again gain a large size possible larger possibly the same it can be a bit unpredictable until you get use to the mixtures and kneading for the right amounts of time. Knead well, repeat again. So basically you want the dough to have risen 3 times and kneaded it 3 times.

Now for cooking. You can either place into a bun type tray, whatever tray you plan to use, through it in the oven whole, you will leave it there on 180 for about 45mins, you might even have to leave it in there for an hour. The times can be very tricky. You also have to play with the temperatures. I found with my oven some days it came out great after 45mins, other days I had to cook it at 150 for an hour. If the bread comes out to hard on the bottom lower the temp for next time and put on an extra 5-10 mins for every 10 degrees you minus. I have found however that a toaster oven cooks these buns the best. I put a small flat ball in my toaster oven for 10-20 mins, times vary on size, wait till it’s golden brown then eat it. It’s wonderful but in the toaster oven with it’s instant heat I out the temp on 200. But that is my oven. The other way to cook it in the oven is on the 3rd steam and rise, instead of kneading, place that carefully into bread pan so when you cook it, it is extra soft and fluffy since it has already risen it then rises again in the oven because of the yeast and it turns out incredibly taste and fluffy and more than enough for a family.

I have found that it costs almost $2 for one loaf of bread yet it cost me $0.89 for a 1kj bag of flour to use only 1cup to make bread. Adding up the small amounts of the other ingredients it has worked out to be cheaper and more efficient for me to make my own bread and noodles than it is to shop for them on their own.

And that’s it. I hope that is helpful.

So yeah, that’s my little healthy food ramble for the day ^w^ hope something out of it was helpful at least. Got questions then feel free to ask.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Noodles & Homemade Bread

Comments are closed.