New Drawing Vlog: MyPaint


I’m in love with MyPaint. It’s just amazing. The blending! THE BLENDING!! It’s so soft and smooooooth! And natural looking! But the blending! For months I’ve tried trial after trial and failed to find what I was after. I tried so many opensource softwares that I was loosing hope then when I was looking for a sketchbook pro or corel painter alternative I found this freeware gem. To me personally, it handles better than most paid programs.

The BEST feature in my personal opinion as a user is that when it has a bug, you can still save and it doesn’t close the program. It just alerts you. Photoshop and others, they just crash, there is no saving. This is what has me truely in love with it as of right now. It’s replaced paint tool sai for the time being. I adore sketching in it. I’ve got WIP drawings and finished drawing all over my tumblr now. Ok I exaggerate but I have been posting my work on my personal blog for a change.

The other day someone genuinely thought I had scanned in a drawing the pencil brush tool looked that realistic and I was pretty pleased. I can’t normally afford my own supplies and I really miss painting, particularly watercolour painting so it became important to me to find a program to satisfy those painting urges. It’s not very good or fun to have the need to draw and then not be able to do it.

The more natural looking the better and I still can’t believe that I even found such a program let alone a freeware one! I’m even considering doing my webcomic cover art in this program but it’s a bit of wait and see at this point.

In the video I was calmly and aimlessly drawing. I made up my mind of what OC it was when I got the face shape down but in the beginning I had no particular plan in mind. I just wanted to draw a face and nice hair. I did this one on livestream and then took it down speed it up and uploaded it to youtube. It’s about 40mins or so of work.

Tools used:

  • Wacom bamboo fun pen & touch tablet
  • MyPaint

I used move maker to speed it up and that’s about it. I don’t have much to say except that you don’t have to change brushes much for blending. If you colour softly you can blend and it’s just brilliant! There’s so many ways you can edit the brush as well but I have yet to discover that.

