Screentoning in PSE 7 With Colour Halftone


Ok so here it is as promised. I will babble on a bit but I’ll do my best to keep it short and sweet. I’ve practically pulled my hair out trying to find a good method and in the end I found a plug-in that does the screentoning better… except it’s in Japanese… anyway moving on. This is a different way other than using the pattern stamp tool. I like this way better but that’s just a personal preference.

So, when you start your new drawing make sure the resolution is either 300, 600 or 1200. Mine is set to a res or dpi of 600. Just like in the GIMP screentoning tutorial I wrote, make sure to change the image mode to greyscale. You can do so by going to Image>> Mode>> Greyscale.

Like in the gimp tutorial, add a new layer under your lineart and colour in greyscale the lighting that you would like your tones to be in. Use gradient to achieve gradient tones. If you want tones of different sizes then you will need to make a separate layer for the other sizes.

When you are ready to create your screentones go to filters>> Pixelate>> Colour Halftone. Use the default settins and adjust the first box to a number like 4 or 8 for small dots and a larger number for larger tones. Some like to change the the other numbers to one number eg 10 others just like to change the angel from 45 to something else but I really don’t know enough about it. You’d be better off looking up more information about how to use the colour halftone filter.

I have mine on the default settings, first box filled with the number 8. Hit ok and you will have screentones.

Your tones should look something like this. Remember if the image is not in greyscale then this will not work properly!

You can make all sorts of tones in photoshop. My personal favourite is grain. I use it in a lot of things. Anyway, go to filters>> Pixilate>> Mezzotint… and you will have a variety of choices from lines to dots and you can get a lot more vareity. Combine this with half tone and you’ll create yet another type of screentone. I like using Mezzotint for clothing textures and wall textures though it can be a bit fiddly.

And that’s it. All I can really say is try combining filters and see what great textures you can make. Diffuse is the other common one to use and make tones. I see a lot of people use custom brushes like stars or strawberry prints and then use the colour halftone like have to create interesting screentones for their backgrounds etc.

Hope this has helped someone!

Happy drawing!

