Book Binding: Home Kit


I haven’t made my own video for this, but I did find one made by someone else already. Now my machine that I bought which was really cheap and came with plastic covers, backs and spines can do up to 150 pages. The reason that I bought mine, was to bind my manuscripts AND storyboards together. It doesn’t matter if you are a manga artist or comic book artist or any other kind of artist where you require a lot of notes and storyboards, binding can be a blessing even if it’s just a few pages. It’s not a cost many of us are willing to go and pay for professionally. Where I live, it’s not that expensive to get a book bound with those plastic clips, but in all honesty, the price you pay for the plastic spines is less that what they charge you for drilling the page holes and putting it together when you can just do it yourself for much less.

I’ve tried the clips, I’ve tried paper clips, I’ve tried binding it myself which was to messy and time consuming and cost me more money that the paper itself did. In the end, after a while through vigorous referencing, they either fell apart or started to wear and fray quicker than I would have liked. If you are serious about making a graphic novel, storybook or writing your own book, these machines are worth it and even if you’re not serious or have no plan to get published, it’s still worth it. You can neatly stack your work with your other books on a bookshelf instead of in a box under your bed never to be seen again.

My other reason for getting this machine, was to make my own journal. I’ve ALWAYS wanted to make my own journal or art book with pages that don’t suck and a cover that I genuinely like. I also like to have one drawing page and one lined page for notes. I hate to write on art paper because I feel like it’s a waste of art space. It’s also excellent for storyboarding, concept art and character design. You just jot down your nots on one page and doodle it up on the other and then you have everything in the one place instead of two separate books ^w^

