More Concept Art Coming plus REVEIWS! (But mostly ramblings)


Adobe Photoshop Elements icon

Image via Wikipedia

So I’ve been thinking about putting together a bit of concept art video’s together. So basically more than one artwork in one video, but that’s IF movie maker doesn’t crash as much as it has been doing lately.

I am however going to record an event file sometime in the week just to avoid using movie maker. Speaking of which I have two freeware programs to suggest OTHER THAN GIMP! I know GIMP can be quite good, but these two are a lot better suited to anime/manga and various cartoon art and just about anything you want to draw with a paint feel to it. Google search Project Dogwaffle. I am certain it is one word. Now becareful with downloading it because of all the ads, but it is very good, quite easy and if you really like it the upgrade is cheap but the free version stays free. The other is opencanvas 1.1 if you haven’t already heard of it which would be a bit odd by now but some people don’t know of it. It’s really awsome to watch your art replay in the even file later ^^ I love to watch my sketches replay but it’s an excellent way to spot where I went wrong.

I really loved project Dogwaffle but I have such a heavy arsenal of digital art programs already that I really didn’t need it but I went through a phase of trying to find a program that go that wonderfully soft watercolour look that I loved so much. In the end, I settled for Opencanvas, paint tool sai and eventually I learned how to watercolour in photoshop though it is very hard and time consuming. I have tried Corel painter, was not for me and thankfully I tested the trial before considering buying it because it is expensive! So my last bit of advice, download the trial before you buy! I bought Photoshop Elements 7 convinced it was the one I needed… how very wrong I was, I needed CS for the art I do but silly me took the advice of the sales man who doesn’t do digital painting and went by the pictures on the back. I did however find a painting technique in ps7 but what I am saying is, you shouldn’t have to adapt to the wrong program. Now I’ve learned my mistake, I will get the trials first. It’s saved me a lot of money.

Like one time I used the Trail of Manga Studio and omg after 2weeks into it, it used up soooo much ram it lagged and crashed and I was considering buying it after the first two weeks but the fact of the matter is, I’m not a big time comic artist and don’t have an industry standard working station and I was heartbroken after that because the tones were so beautiful and clean. Then I saw illuststudio and I tried the out of date english trial, saw the video’s on youtube and now I am saving up to buy it from akadot retail because it does the same thing without eating your pc, plus the coloured tones has me rather interested. I’ve found out opencanvas, the newer ones also have toning capabilities but illuststudio is a lot better for it since it’s made to create manga. My main reason is that it’s a japanese software specifically made to make manga so they’ve thought of EVERYTHING! And it’s so much cheaper to buy that Manga Studio. I don’t know how successful people think most comic’s artists are these days because most of us just make webcomic’s now in the hopes that someone will read and enjoy it.

Anyway I am getting side tracked now so to sum everything up, I will be posting a drawing video soon. Remember that just because my art turns out nice in a program doesn’t mean it will be the same for you because we all make art differently so, try before you buy. And have a great time drawing!

