All Healed and Back to Work!!


The color spectrum rendered into the sRGB colo...

Image via Wikipedia

So, for those of you that don’t know why I disappeared for so long, it’s because I got the dental work done! I had 15 extractions and am almost totally healed up now and already I feel soooo much better. I’m full of energy and I am no longer upset with my art. In fact half the reason I was so frustrated was because I was so terribly ill, but I am healthy now so it’s all good! I am going to keep up with my Vlog though and here is the first one for 2011.

Ok so there’s been numerious questions on why I don’t shade with the standard browns like other artists and personally I find it looks too unnatural by the time I finish, even if I adjust the hues or levels in photoshop. I’ve actually found more natural looking shading from using very low opacity burgandy, aubergine, rich and deep reds and shadowy grey/purples than I have with hand picking the browns myself plus I am a bit colour blind as well and picking colours is terribly hard at times so this alternative suits me just fine. The other reason is because when these colours are on a low opacity eg 10% it mixes/blends to make that brown in just the right colour and it is easy to build up or darken in the right shade for each level of shadow desired. I’m also very heavy handed on using purple in everything from backgrounds to clothing and jewellery so the skin tones often suit my art better when they have a slight purple hue to them anyway.

So all that info aside I will explain why I’ve used blue this time. Like I mentioned, if the dominant colour is in the background, clothes etc then I tend to shade with that colour to make it suit. I’ve found doing this, I rarely have to use the hues and contrast any more because it already matches. I also used blue because he’d be understandably FREEZING! And that’s all there is to it. I was unsure of this character and how he’d look with blue around his eyes and lips so that is why I coloured the sketch. I liked it so much that I am going to finish it later in the week. I’m currently way to back logged on DA to post it there just yet because my laptop over christmas died. I’m currently borrowing a friends to do an important commission until I can get my new PC which is hopefully going to be sometime in February.

Sorry I don’t have much else to say on this picture but that’s all I have to say on how I colour and why. The plain and simple reasons are because it gives me the ability to slowly build up when on a low opacity right up to where I need it to without having to colour pick every ten minutes. Actually it’s cut my working time down by several hours doing it this way. I hope some of you find it helpful and I hope that it has cleared up some things for those who keep asking me why I or how I pick my colours to shade.

Good luck and have fun! I’ll be writing a new post in a few hours because I just finished a new video on concept art only it’s my way of doing things when I design my characters =D

One thought on “All Healed and Back to Work!!

  1. Pingback: Colour Practise Video « Draconianrain's Blog

Comments are closed.